News
News

Welcome to our SLJ video corner! Here, you can view trailers for Boyds Mills & Kane and minedition’s new and upcoming book releases, as well as watch insightful and creative discussions between our authors and their editors.

 

SOMETIMES IT’S BRIGHT Book Trailer

In this visually rich picture book, a girl discovers the joy of creativity, first on a walk through the city and ultimately within herself.

 

Meet the author/illustrator, Annie Ruygt!

 

THE LEAF DETECTIVE Book Trailer

Meg Lowman was determined to investigate the marvelous, undiscovered world of the rainforest treetops. Meg’s perseverance and creativity allowed her to achieve this goal, but when this fantastic ecosystem started to disappear, Meg needed to act quickly.

 

FIGHT OF THE CENTURY Book Trailer

The fight for women’s suffrage between women’s rights leader Alice Paul and President Woodrow Wilson is creatively presented as a four-round boxing match in this energetic nonfiction picture book.

 

Author and Editor Chats

Author Gail Jarrow combined her passion for writing with her background in science and education. More on her books: https://geni.us/YbdjuOu

 

Wordsong Editorial Director talks Children’s poetry with Rebecca Kai Dolitch:

Introducing Little Scoot, Rebecca Kai Dolitch’s new picture book! A tiny tugboat overcomes her fears of a turbulent storm to save a stranded barge in this timeless tale of persistence.

 

 

THE KING’S GOLDEN BEARD Book Trailer

Who’s to blame when a vain, heedless king meets his comeuppance? He is, of course! Fans of Tomi Ungerer’s mischievous humor and Jon Agee’s sly morality tales will be delighted by this hilarious read-aloud about a long, long beard and its short-sighted royal owner, by a popular Belgian illustrator, designer, and animation whiz.

 

PEEK-A-MOOD Book Trailer:

Guess how I’m feeling? A peekaboo book and a primer on empathy, PEEK-A-MOOD invites children to open the flaps and explore our many emotions.

 

WHERE DO YOU POOP? Book Trailer

Potty training becomes a funny, interactive game of discovery in this pull-the-flap book about animals’ toilet habits, perfect for fans of Taro Gomi’s Everyone Poops or Julie Marks’s Where’s the Poop? Amusing rhymes about each animal’s routine combine with the chance to make its poop appear by pulling a flap, culminating in an encouraging image of a boy on his own potty.

 

ANTONIA Book Trailer

Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen, this nearly wordless picture book tells a heartwarming and hopeful story of loss and new beginnings as a little girl and her dog, Antonia, journey with their family across a river to start a new life.

 

A Conversation with Lenora Todaro, Author of SEA LIONS IN THE PARKING LOT

Ready, Set, Draw with Klaas Verplancke!

Klaas Verplancke teaches us how to draw the guards from THE KING’S GOLDEN BEARD!

Filed: News

Sign up for our Newsletter!

Click here to sign up for our monthly email featuring book giveaways, free-activity alerts, special offers, and breaking news about BMK series and titles!

Categories

Archives