News
News

Web Banner - National Poetry Month

Poetry takes complex ideas and breaks them down into feelings—it elevates the most simple moment into a magical experience, and celebrates all five senses. It can make mundane interactions feel meaningful, and bring the mysteries of nature to life. Poetry can be silly, informative, educational, and transformative.

April is National Poetry Month, and we’re so proud to share these 16 poetry books for children. There’s a poem in each collection for ever reader—from preschoolers learning about nature to young adults developing empathy and delving into concepts of great consequence. Click through to learn more about each title.

 

A Hatful of Dragons by Vikram Madan

A Hatful of Dragons: AND MORE THAN 13.8 BILLION OTHER FUNNY POEMS
By VIKRAM MADAN

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book • Selected for the Texas Bluebonnet Master List • A New York Public Library Best Book • Denver Public Library’s Best and Brightest 2020 Poetry List • Ideal for fans of Jack Prelutsky and Shel Silverstein, this collection of hilarious poems features delicious vocabulary and a wide range of subjects, as well as recurring characters and subplots in the art that weave the poems together and add to the merriment.


This Poem Is a Nest by Irene Latham

This Poem Is a Nest
By IRENE LATHAM
Illustrated by JOHANNA WRIGHT

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book • An NCTE Notable Poetry Book • This beautiful poetry collection introduces readers to the art of found poetry as the poet writes a 37-line poem, “Nest,” then finds 160 smaller poems within it.

 


Construction People by Lee Bennett Hopkins

Construction People
Poems selected by LEE BENNETT HOPKINS
Illustrated by ELLEN SHI

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book • An NCTE Notable Poetry Book • Fourteen poems compiled by award-winning poet and anthologist Lee Bennett Hopkins introduce readers to the various construction people who collaborate to create a high-rise hotel building, from architect to crane operator to glaziers and more.


A Bunch of Punctuation by Lee Bennett Hopkins

A Bunch of Punctuation
Poems selected by LEE BENNETT HOPKINS
Illustrated by SERGE BLOCH

Selected by noted anthologist Lee Bennett Hopkins, this collection of all-new poems is written from the points of view of personality-filled punctuation marks, and is a memorable introduction to grammar for kids (adults, too!)

 


Read! Read! Read! by Amy Ludwig Vanderwater

Read! Read! Read!
By AMY LUDWIG VANDERWATER
Illustrated by RYAN O’ROURKE

Twenty-three poems capture the joys of reading. This poetry explores what reading does — how it opens minds, can make you kind, and allows you to explore the whole world.

 


Write! Write! Write! by Amy Ludwig Vanderwater

Write! Write! Write!
By AMY LUDWIG VANDERWATER
Illustrated by RYAN O’ROURKE

A NCTE Notable Poetry Book • A NCTE Notable Children’s Books in the Language Arts • Twenty-two poems capture the amazing power of writing and will inspire even the most reluctant writer to begin putting words to paper.


After Dark by David L. Harrison

After Dark: POEMS ABOUT NOCTURNAL ANIMALS
By DAVID L. HARRISON
Illustrated by STEPHANIE LABERIS

This collection of twenty-two poems explores the fascinating lives of North American nocturnal animals.


Boom! Bellow! Bleat! by Georgia Heard

Boom! Bellow! Bleat!: ANIMAL POEMS FOR TWO OR MORE VOICES
By GEORGIA HEARD
Illustrated by AARON DEWITT

A NCTE Notable Poetry Book • This playful collection of poems–peppered with an astounding variety of animal sounds–is meant to be read aloud together.


Thunder Underground by Jane Yolen

Thunder Underground
By JANE YOLEN
Illustrated by JOSÉE MASSE

This thought-provoking collection will evoke a sense of wonder and awe in readers, as they discover the mysterious world underneath us.


Soccerverse by Elizabeth Steinglass

Soccerverse: POEMS ABOUT SOCCER
By ELIZABETH STEINGLASS
Illustrated by EDSON IKÊ

An NCTE Notable Poetry Book • The perfect gift for young soccer fans, this picture book features twenty-two imaginative poems that capture all aspects of the world’s most popular sport.


School People by Lee Bennett Hopkins

School People
Poems selected by LEE BENNETT HOPKINS
Illustrated by ELLEN SHI

Fifteen poems selected by acclaimed poet and anthologist Lee Bennett Hopkins celebrate all of the grown-ups that children encounter during the course of a school day.


Ordinary Hazards by Nikki Grimes

Ordinary Hazards: A MEMOIR
By NIKKI GRIMES

A Michael L. Printz Honor Book • A Robert F. Sibert Informational Honor Book • A Boston Globe/Horn Book Nonfiction Honor Book • Arnold Adoff Poetry Award for Teens • Six Starred Reviews — ★Booklist ★BCCB ★The Horn Book ★Publishers Weekly ★School Library Connection ★Shelf Awareness

A Booklist Best Book for Youth • A BCCB Blue Ribbon • A Horn Book Fanfare Book • A Shelf Awareness Best Children’s Book • Recommended on NPR’s “Morning Edition” by Kwame Alexander  In her own voice, acclaimed author and poet Nikki Grimes explores the truth of a harrowing childhood in a compelling and moving memoir in verse.

 


Words with Wings by Nikki Grimes

Words with Wings
By NIKKI GRIMES

A Coretta Scott King Author Honor Award • An ALSC Notable Children’s Book  Written in vivid, accessible poems, this remarkable verse novel is a celebration of imagination, of friendship, of one girl’s indomitable spirit, and of a teacher’s ability to reach out and change a life.


Garvey's Choice by Nikki Grimes

Garvey’s Choice
By NIKKI GRIMES

Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year • A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year  This emotionally resonant novel in verse by award-winning author Nikki Grimes celebrates choosing to be true to yourself.

 


Voices from the March on Washington by George Ella Lyon and J. Patrick Lewis

Voices from the March on Washington
By GEORGE ELLA LYON and J. PATRICK LEWIS

The powerful poems in this poignant collection weave together multiple voices to tell the story of the March on Washington, DC, in 1963.

 


Catching a Storyfish by Janice N. Harrington

Catching a Storyfish
By JANICE N. HARRINGTON

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year • This lyrical middle-grade novel-in-verse celebrates the power of story and of finding one’s individual voice.

Filed: News

Sign up for our Newsletter!

Click here to sign up for our monthly email featuring book giveaways, free-activity alerts, special offers, and breaking news about BMK series and titles!

Categories

Archives